top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Book Review: Alone With You In The Ether by Olivie Blake (ARC)

"CHICAGO, SOMETIME—

Two people meet in the Art Institute by chance. Prior to their encounter, he is a doctoral student who manages his destructive thoughts with compulsive calculations about time travel; she is a bipolar counterfeit artist, undergoing court-ordered psychotherapy. By the end of the story, these things will still be true. But this is not a story about endings.


For Regan, people are predictable and tedious, including and perhaps especially herself. She copes with the dreariness of existence by living impulsively, imagining a new, alternate timeline being created in the wake of every rash decision.


To Aldo, the world feels disturbingly chaotic. He gets through his days by erecting a wall of routine: a backbeat of rules and formulas that keep him going. Without them, the entire framework of his existence would collapse.


For Regan and Aldo, life has been a matter of resigning themselves to the blueprints of inevitability—until the two meet. Could six conversations with a stranger be the variable that shakes up the entire simulation?


From Olivie Blake, the New York Times bestselling author of The Atlas Six, comes an intimate and contemporary study of time, space, and the nature of love. Alone with You in the Ether explores what it means to be unwell, and how to face the fractures of yourself and still love as if you're not broken."


Pages: 288

 

Today is my stop on the tour for Alone With You In The Ether by Olivie Blake. I received a copy for free in exchange for an honest review, thank you so much to Black Crow PR, Tor Books & Pan Macmillan for my copy and for having me on the tour!

I’m not quite sure how to put my feelings into words, Alone With You in the Ether has captured me in a way that hasn’t been done before! I have been so exited to read this, I absolutely love Olivie Blake’s writing and this novel takes it to the next level! It immediately pulled me in and has refused to let me go since!


The writing is gentle & charming with some absolutely striking quotes! This is the perfect book for people who love tabbing because my copy practically has a tab on every page - more like every paragraph if I’m being completely honest! There were lines that were so stunningly beautiful I had to stop reading for a while and just absorb them. It is one of those books where as soon as I finished I wanted to read it all over again. It made me feel every emotion while reading, it was brilliant and so gorgeous.


I really loved the characters and the message that no matter your flaws there is someone out there who will love your brain and make you feel special. Plus I really enjoyed all of the bee references and facts! I love bees so much, I have them on everything! From my booksleeves, my backpack, my phone case and even my little bee I crocheted in the picture! They are fascinating and full of hidden wonders - just like our characters.


Alone With You in the Ether is a beautiful love story but also a wonderful story of hope. I loved it so much!


Make sure to check out all of the amazing bloggers also on the tour!


9 views0 comments
bottom of page