top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Book Review: Fireborn by Aisling Fowler (ARC)

"Lyra. Lucy. Percy. Once in a generation, a hero emerges whose story enthralls readers worldwide.


Fireborn is an epic quest, perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials and The School for Good and Evil series, that will spin readers into a magical world like no other--and introduce them to an unforgettable new heroine named Twelve.


Ember is full of monsters.


Twelve gave up her name and identity to train in the art of hunting them--so she says. The truth is much more deadly: she trains to take revenge on those who took her family from her.


But when Twelve's new home is attacked, she'll find herself on an unexpected journey, where her hidden past is inescapably intertwined with her destiny--and the very fate of her world."


Pages: 384

 

I received Fireborn by Aisling Fowler for free in exchange for an honest review as part of a blog tour organised by The Write Reads. Thank you so much to The Write Reads, Aisling Fowler, Harper Collins Children's Books and Tina Mories for having me on the tour and for my gorgeous advanced copy!


Fireborn is publishing on 30th September 2021 and available on Amazon & GoodReads!


I don't even know where to begin to describe how much I LOVED this book! It is definitely one of my favourites of the year and has even found it's place amongst my all-time favourites list!

The characters were all so interesting and I loved how we got little snippets of their backstories throughout the book! I thought Twelve was a really good protagonist and I enjoyed how fierce and brave she was. Even though she claimed to be a lone wolf she still fought for the others and I enjoyed seeing how they all came to care for each other in their own unique ways. Everyone knows how much I love the found family trope and Aisling Fowler has done it to absolute PERFECTION! Unlikely friends who band together to form a family melts my heart every time and the fact that there was also some fantastic LGBTQIA+ representation in the story made me so happy!


Another favourite element that I love to see in stories is worldbuilding and WOW the worldbuilding in Fireborn was INCREDIBLE! From the clans to the forest with heart-racing action throughout, I was instantly captivated and I couldn't put it down! Like my treasured Percy Jackson series this is a book that I will be rereading again and again for years to come! I felt fully immersed in the world and wanted to explore even more of it!


Amazing characters, fantastic writing, a brilliant concept and phenomenal worldbuilding is a recipe for instant success and Fireborn has exceeded all of these. It is an extraordinarily outstanding debut that I am 100% obsessed with and I hope there is even more to come because I can't wait to see what happens next! Twelve is the new hero of a generation!


Fireborn is a story of adventure, courage and friendship that is impossible to put down! Every page was full of magic and I didn't want it to end!


Thank you so much for having me on this tour!

Thank you for reading my thoughts, you can also find me on my Twitter and Instagram! Let me know if you have any recommendations of what I should read next.




Aisling was born in 1985 and wishes that she had grown up in a magical, mountainous kingdom, but was actually raised in Surrey on a diet of books and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Her early ‘adventure’ stories involved surprisingly little action and her first novel (3 pages long) was politely declined by publishers at age 11. After earning a BSc in Biology and working as a support worker and then a nurse, the idea for her debut novel, Fireborn, came to her as she moved back and forth between London and the US. Now based in Hackney, when she is not reading or writing, Aisling loves cooking and plotting adventures (for herself as well as her fictional characters). Fireborn will be published by HarperCollins in 2021.

32 views0 comments
bottom of page