top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Book Review: Last Chance Books by Kelsey Rodkey (ARC)

"Don’t you just love the smell of old books in the morning?


Madeline Moore does. Books & Moore, the musty bookstore her family has owned for generations, is where she feels most herself. Nothing is going to stop her from coming back after college to take over the store from her beloved aunt.


Nothing, that is—until a chain bookstore called Prologue opens across the street and threatens to shut them down.


Madeline sets out to demolish the competition, but Jasper, the guy who works over at Prologue, seems intent on ruining her life. Not only is he taking her customers, he has the unbelievable audacity to be… extremely cute.


But that doesn’t matter. Jasper is the enemy and he will be destroyed. After all—all’s fair in love and (book) wars."


Pages: 368


 

I received an ARC of Last Chance Books by Kelsey Rodkey for free by Harper 360 YA in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much for this advanced copy!


Last Chance Books will be published in the UK on August 5th and is available on GoodReads and Amazon.

As soon as I saw that Last Chance Books was described as 'You've Got Mail' I was immediately sold! 'You've Got Mail' is one of my favourite rom-com movies (nobody can deny that Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks are absolutely magic together!) and Last Chance Books is even better!


Our main character is Madeline Moore and she works at her family's independent bookstore which she hopes to inherit one day. However, those dreams are threatened when a fancy chain store moves in across the road. Madeline has to do everything she can to save her store even if that means getting into a brutal prank war with the cute boy from the rival store.


The banter between Madeline and Jasper was amazing! They were so funny together and the chemistry they had was fantastic. I also loved how they were both total geeks, they really complemented each other nicely! Plus, it is an excellent addition to the enemies to lovers trope.


The story flowed so nicely I didn't want to put it down! The writing was so good and I was so attached to the bookstore, it made me want to join the fight to save it! Now I'm off to buy some books from an online independent store - you can't blame me, Last Chance Books made me do it!


An amazingly fun read that will give you all of the feels. A story of last chance books that has found a forever home in my heart!


Thank you for reading my thoughts, you can also find me on my Twitter and Instagram! Let me know if you have any recommendations of what I should read next.


11 views0 comments
bottom of page