top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Book Review: This Monk Wears Heels by Kodo Nishimura (ARC)

"Kodo Nishimura rose to fame following his appearance in Queer Eye: We're in Japan. Now this celebrity make-up artist and ordained Buddhist monk shares his unique guide to positivity and self-acceptance. This is a practical guide that will appeal to an audience who will learn from the author's path to self-love and resilience.


You won't become the real you unless you face up to the thing that you've avoided most. Open your eyes to whatever it is you don't want to see and change will come.


Kodo Nishimura, international make-up artist and Buddhist monk, rose to stardom after appearing in the Queer Eye: We're In Japan!special that aired to massive viewership on Netflix. His wide smile, however, hid a painful past. The book starts with Kodo's childhood in Japan, playing dress up as Little Mermaid, and his lonely adolescence when, although born into a family of priests, all he wanted to do was wear pretty dresses and become a princess. Growing up an outsider in a society that celebrates uniformity, Kodo's time in New York at the Parsons School of Design and his work as a leading make-up artist finally brought him to embrace his own uniqueness.


The book is full of practical tips for positive thinking and insights into the philosophical approach to life Kodo has crafted as a Buddhist monk. Detailing his journey to self- love, the book provides a gentle, loving, and encouraging voice for all those who dare to be different."


Pages: 224

 

I received This Monk Wears Heels by Kodo Nishimura for free by Watkins Wisdom in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much for my advanced copy! Available on 8th February 2022.


I always love learning about something new so one of my goals for this year is to read some more non fiction and WOW what an amazing book to start off with!

As well as the amazing meditation and help with anxiety I also loved learning more about Buddhism! There were so many beautiful and enlightening descriptions and quotes that really helped deepen my understanding and made me curious to want to learn even more. Plus the mental health tips and tricks were so helpful! I actually used Kodo’s suggestion of writing a letter to yourself before you do something big that causes anxiety so you can have something positive to come back to after before my appraisal at my job and it worked! It made me feel so much better and made me feel so good to come back to that.


Kodo has such a calming tone of voice throughout the book that when I was reading I instantly felt at ease. It is so authentic, genuine and relatable and makes you do some soul searching and really think about things. I couldn’t put it down! I feel like it is fate that this book came to me at the exact time I needed it and I couldn’t be more thankful - I feel like I’ve had a complete emotional makeover and I loved it!

This Monk Wears Heels is a fantastic book to start off the year and such an inspiration with teachings that I am going to take with me and utilise in my life from now on! Thank you so much for this gorgeous advanced copy!

30 views0 comments
bottom of page