top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Book Review: This Woven Kingdom by Tahereh Mafi (ARC)

"Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people—bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology.


To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not the long-lost heir to an ancient Jinn kingdom forced to hide in plain sight.


The crown prince, Kamran, has heard the prophecies foretelling the death of his king. But he could never have imagined that the servant girl with the strange eyes, the girl he can’t put out of his mind, would one day soon uproot his kingdom—and the world.


Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Tomi Adeyemi, and Sabaa Tahir, this is the explosive first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling and National Book Award-nominated author Tahereh Mafi."


Pages: 512

 

I received This Woven Kingdom by Tahereh Mafi for free by the lovely team at Electric Monkey in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much for my advanced copy! I’m still in absolute shock that I received this ARC, I can’t thank you enough!


Drop your entire TBR because you NEED to read this book!


This Woven Kingdom stole my heart from the very first pages and I can’t stop thinking about it even now that I’ve finished! It is one that is going to stay with me for a long time and definitely one of my favourite books I’ve ever read!

I was immediately drawn into the world and didn’t want to leave. The worldbuilding was absolutely amazing and I was so immersed in the history. I loved learning about Persian mythology and I’m so excited to go away and do even more research because it looks absolutely fascinating.


The writing is fantastic and keeps you hooked throughout. It is so swoon worthy and there are so many GORGEOUS quotes that just made me squeal. I can’t wait to read this book again so I can tab all of my favourite lines (to be completely honest with you the WHOLE thing is probably going to be tabbed!) I loved the twists that kept me on my toes and I think this was the fastest that I’ve ever read a 500 page book - I just didn’t want to put it down for a second!

Plus the chemistry between the characters was sensational!! The passion but also the suspicion and the yearning between them - I am addicted! Arizeh and Kamran are definitely my new top ship, I need more of them!


The attention to artistic detail in this book is so beautiful! I loved the artwork on the corner of the pages and also the glorious chapter pages. The fact that the proof is this gorgeous I can’t even begin to imagine how stunning the finished copy is going to be!


This Woven Kingdom is a phenomenal read that I am completely obsessed with! A true beauty in every sense of the word and I am so excited to see what happens next!


11 views0 comments
bottom of page