top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Book Review: Wicked Little Deeds by Kat Ellis (ARC)

"From its creepy town mascot to the story of its cursed waterfall, Burden Falls is a small town dripping with superstition. Ava Thorn knows this well - since the horrific accident she witnessed a year ago, she's been plagued by nightmares.


But when her school nemesis is brutally murdered and Ava is the primary suspect, she starts to wonder if the legends surrounding the town are more fact than fiction.


Whatever secrets Burden Falls is hiding, there's a killer on the loose, and they have a vendetta against the Thorns..."


Pages: 400

 

I received Wicked Little Deeds by Kat Ellis for free in exchange for an honest review as part of a blog tour organised by The Write Reads and Penguin Platform. Thank you so much for having me on the tour!


Wicked Little Deeds was published on 5th August 2021 and is available on GoodReads and Amazon. Make sure to check out all of the amazing bloggers on the tour!

Wicked Little Deeds is set in the creepy town of Burden Falls which is filled with superstition, ghost stories and even more recently - a string of murders. Is there a killer on the loose or possibly an angry spirit from beyond the veil?

I have to make a small confession - this is not a genre I typically go for and I was very hestitant when I started to read it because I am a huge wimp when it comes to anything scary! However, it sounded so good and I've heard so many good things about it so far that I knew I had to give the story a try and I am SO glad I did! I like to try and stray away from my usual genres every know and again because I love finding amazing gems like this!


The story was immediately intriguing and I was hooked throughout! Once I got into it, I found it hard to put down. I really enjoyed how atmospheric it was! The author sets the scene very well and the book has a creepy, chilling and fantastically eerie feel.


Ava is our main character and also she is unfortunately the main suspect of the murder investigation in the eyes of the police due to her rival relationship to the victim. Now she is determined to clear her name and find the true killer! The characters are all really interesting and I loved the connections that were revealed between them!


As well as being very spooky, the story is brilliantly clever with so many amazing twists that I could've never seen coming!


Wicked Little Deeds is a spine chilling and mind-bending ghost story that has made me a fan of the genre! Thank you so much for having me on the tour!


Thank you for reading my thoughts, you can also find me on my Twitter and Instagram! Let me know if you have any recommendations of what I should read next.




Kat Ellis is a young adult author whose novels include Wicked Little Deeds/Burden Falls (August 2021), Harrow Lake (July 2020), Purge (September 2016), Breaker (May 2016), and Blackfin Sky (May 2014). She is a fan of all things horror and sci-fi, and a keen explorer of ruins, castles and cemeteries – all of which are plentiful in North Wales, where Kat lives with her husband.


You can find out more about Kat at www.katelliswrites.com or connect with her on social media.


Email: katelliswrites@gmail.com


Website: katelliswrites.com


Facebook: facebook.com/katelliswrites


Instagram: @katelliswrites

23 views0 comments
bottom of page