top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

How To Excavate a Heart by Jake Maia Arlow (ARC)

"Kelly Quindlen meets Casey McQuiston in this sapphic Jewish twist on the classic Christmas enemies-to-lovers rom-com, as college freshman Shani’s internship is interrupted by a whirlwind winter fling.


It all starts when Shani runs into May. Like, literally. With her mom’s Subaru.


Attempted vehicular manslaughter was not part of Shani’s plan. She was supposed to be focusing on her monthlong paleoichthyology internship. She was going to spend all her time thinking about dead fish and not at all about how she was unceremoniously dumped days before winter break.


It could be going better.


But when a dog-walking gig puts her back in May’s path, the fossils she’s meant to be diligently studying are pushed to the side—along with the breakup.


Then they’re snowed in together on Christmas Eve. As things start to feel more serious, though, Shani’s hurt over her ex-girlfriend’s rejection comes rushing back. Is she ready to try a committed relationship again, or is she okay with this just being a passing winter fling?"


Pages: 384

 

Today is my stop on the tour for How To Excavate A Heart by Jake Maia Arlow.

I received a copy for free in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much Pride Book Tours & Harper 360 YA for my copy and for having me on the tour!

I have been so excited to read this, it was one of my anticipated reads for the season and it did not disappoint! From the very first line I was immediately hooked and it was definitely one of the best first chapters I’ve read! I loved the writing style, it was so humorous and flowed really well, I feel like I flew through this book!


I really enjoyed the chemistry between Shani & May and the enemies to lovers energy they had. Their friendship & romance had such a sweet development and I really liked how we got to see them slowly understand and start to fall for each other. Plus, being snowed in together is such a good trope, I eat it up every single time!

Although, as much as I loved our characters, I do have to give a shoutout to the true main character of the story - Raphael the Corgi with his little snow boots!! Corgi’s are my favourite and I immediately fell in love. He truly was the hero of the story and is a fluffy, good boy!

Also, I loved all of the palaeontology facts! It’s a topic that I find absolutely fascinating and I was engrossed. Did it also spur a midnight research rabbit hole? Yes, and it was worth it even if I did have to get up early for work the next morning 😂

There were so many cute and funny moments but also some heartbreaking ones that were written with such care and love. I would definitely recommend reading the trigger warnings for this book before starting!


How To Excavate A Heart is a wonderfully sweet Jewish sapphic romcom that was a delight to read!

5 views0 comments
bottom of page