top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Review: Dragonfall by L.R.Lam (ARC)

"The first in an epic fantasy trilogy from Sunday Times bestselling author L.R. Lam.


Long ago, humans betrayed dragons, stealing their magic and banishing them to a dying world. Centuries later, their descendants worship dragons as gods. But the 'gods' remember, and they do not forgive.


Thief Arcady scrapes a living on the streets of Vatra. Desperate, Arcady steals a powerful artifact from the bones of the Plaguebringer, the most hated person in Lumet history. Only Arcady knows the artifact's magic holds the key to a new life among the nobles at court and a chance for revenge.


The spell connects to Everen, the last male dragon foretold to save his kind, dragging him through the Veil. Disguised as a human, Everen soon learns that to regain his true power and form and fulfil his destiny, he only needs to convince one little thief to trust him enough to bond completely–body, mind, and soul–and then kill them.


Yet the closer the two become, the greater the risk both their worlds will shatter."


Pages: 448

 

Today is my stop on the tour for Dragonfall by L.R. Lam ✨ Thank you so much Pride Book Tours & Hodderscape for my beautiful copy and for having me on the tour!

(AD| I received a free copy for an honest review)

Now THIS is how you do a cover! Plus, it’s queer and has dragons?! You know I’m immediately invested!


There are so many things that I absolutely adored about this book but one of the things that warmed my heart the most was the queer-normative world, especially our gender-fluid main character and the discussions surrounding gender! “You’d use neutral for children until they choose, whenever that might be” was such a beautiful line and I loved how Arcady talked about their gender fluidity!


And the characters!! I loved all of them and I just have to gush about my loves Arcady & Everen because their banter? *Chefs Kiss* and their yearning *Humungous Chefs Kiss*!!

They suit each other so well and are such a good parallel to each other! Both of them are angry at the fate they have been dealt and they want change but also want to live up to their families expectations and legacies. Not to mention the fact that they are each hiding something vital from the other and they’re scared of it driving the other away. I must admit I did struggle a little at first when I saw that Everen’s chapters were in the second person because it’s not something that I’ve come across much before, but I got used to it quite quickly and it did work really well!


Also, I’m so excited to see more of Sorin & Cassia in the sequel! Their storylines were so

interesting and I’m really looking forward to see how that develops especially in relation to our main couple!


I really enjoyed the worldbuilding and the magic system was so interesting! I have such a soft spot for thieves in fiction and just to sweeten everything I already loved about this book, the author also gives the readers A HEIST! I love a good heist and the training montage between Arcady and Everen to get Everen ready for the grand plan was so cute! I love it when you see a character gradually develop skills and the bonding between them was the cherry on top!

Dragonfall is an epic story full of betrayal, revenge and a love that could eclipse all of it! Be prepared for yearning, secrets and a twist that will knock your socks off! I’m so excited to see what happens next!

9 views0 comments
bottom of page