top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Rose - Rami Ungar

""Rose Taggert awakens in a greenhouse with no clear memory of the past two years and, to her horror, finds her body transformed into an unrecognisable form.


Paris Kuyper has convinced Rose that they are lovers and as Paris could not bear for her to die, he has used an ancient and dark magic to save her from certain death.


But the dark magic Paris has used comes at a price. A price which a terrible demon is determined to extract from Rose.


As Rose struggles to understand what is happening to her, she must navigate Paris' lies and secrets; secrets that Paris will do anything to protect."

Pages: 136


 

This is my first book tour with Blackthorn Book Tours! I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. Blackthorn Book Tours are a book tour service with a focus on dark fiction such as crime, noir, horror and more! Check out their website or Twitter if you want to know more!


Before starting I do have to warn that this book is not for younger audiences and I have attached some trigger warnings to this post (below) as this book does deal with some dark themes. Please look at the warnings and please don't read any further or the book if there is something there that may trigger you!


TW: emotional & physical abuse, gaslighting, graphic descriptions of violence, suicide


Rose by Rami Ungar is part of the horror/thriller genre. One day, Rose wakes up with no memory of the last couple of years and is somehow half-human, half-plant. She is under the care of her supposed boyfriend Paris, not realising that there are much larger forces at play. She has to figure out not only who she is but also what she is, and how to get out of the situation she has found herself in.


I must admit that I don't usually read books from the horror genre as I hate getting scared! The same goes for horror films - they turn me into a nervous wreck. However, with it now officially being spooky season I thought I might as well get into the good, old-fashioned, spooky spirit. Additionally, with Rose there is a whole lot more than just your typical horror. Rami Ungar brings a 'Jumanji' like feel to the book with a frightening whirlwind of action, suspense and manipulation. From the very first sentence there is mystery and intrigue which leaves you wanting to know more.


The book as a whole is very well written. I loved how descriptive the author was. Every room and every scene had real, in depth detail and makes the reader feel as though they are right there alongside the characters. In addition to this, the book includes so many different elements and themes that it easily has something for everyone. Action, magic, fantasy...you name it and you'll probably find it!


Interestingly, there even are elements of Japanese Mythology throughout the book which I found very unique. I'm a complete novice when it comes to Japanese Mythology but it was really fun to learn about as I was reading. I'm somebody who grew up obsessed with Percy Jackson and Greek Mythology so this was absolutely fascinating to me! After finishing the book, I even wanted to research further on the legends but I won't drag you down that rabbit hole with me tonight!


Although, as I said, this isn't really my typical genre I did find Rose really interesting and if after reading this, it sounds like a bit of you then it is definitely worth giving it a read!


Thank you for reading my thoughts, you can also find me on my Twitter and Instagram!


Again, I would like to disclaim that I received this book from Blackthorn Book Tours for free in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much for including me in your Book Tour, I really enjoyed it!

If anyone would like to do a similar collaboration, please check out my reviews policy and feel free to contact me by email or my social media!


About the Author

"Rami Ungar knew he wanted to be a writer from the age of five, when he first became exposed to the world of Harry Potter and wanted to create imaginative worlds like Harry’s. As a tween, he fell in love with the works of Anne Rice and Stephen King and, as he was getting too old to sneak up on people and shout “Boo!’ (not that that ever stopped him), he decided to merge his two loves and become a horror writer.


Today, Rami lives and writes in Columbus, Ohio. He’s self-published three novels and one collection of short stories, and his stories have appeared in other publications here and there. Rose, his first novel with Castrum Press, will be released June 21st, 2019.


When he’s not writing your nightmares or coming up with those, he’s enjoying anything from the latest horror novel or movie to anime and manga to ballet, collecting anything that catches his fancy, and giving you the impression he may not be entirely human."


You can usually find Rami from these links:


26 views0 comments
bottom of page