top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

The Adulting Manual - Milly Smith & Katie Abey

"You know those things you're supposed to know how to do as an adult, but you really don't know? Ever been in that situation where you're looking for the adult in the room, and then you realise YOU are the adult? Yeah, that. There's adulting, then there's adulting for the messy mind. Sometimes you just need extra maps and a GPS. This manual is for adults that sometimes need a little extra help.


From top small talk tips to use next time you're at the hairdressers to advice on how to ask for help, this interactive journal offers a safe place for people to explore their mental health and express themselves.


Written by Milly Smith, a mental health and body acceptance advocate and public speaker. Milly uses her Instagram account @millykeepsgoing to send positive messages to her 170,000 strong following.


Milly's wise words are accompanied by the whimsical and quirky illustrations of Katie Abey. Katie's motivational and pun-filled illustrations have a huge appeal to adults."

Pages: 128

 

I received a proof of The Adulting Manual by Milly Smith & Katie Abey for free by Hot Key Books in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much Milly Smith, Katie Abey and Hot Key Books for this opportunity! The Adulting Manual is available on GoodReads & Amazon.

The Adulting Manual is an interactive journal that covers "mindfulness and mental health to sex, self-love and everything in between." I battle with my mental health daily - specifically my anxiety, depression and my body image so I'm always on the hunt for new self care techniques and when I saw The Adulting Manual I knew I had to read it!


The interactive elements in this book were absolutely fantastic! Not only was it filled with some of my favourite activities like colouring, which was so peaceful and fun, but it also had STICKERS and that genuinely makes it the best book ever for me! I am a firm believer that adults need stickers in their lives too, they just make everything in life better and I just think they're swell.

There were so many parts of this book that were introspective and really helped me come to terms with some aspects of my mental health and the next steps I need to take in order to get better. One of the best things is that the book is not condescending and it really helped me stop feeling ashamed of my problems and feel ready to start being more open and to talk about them more especially to the people in my life. Plus I really appreciate the tools and resources that the book provided me with so I now feel equipped to tackle a bad mental health day.


I must admit, some of the writing exercises were hard because it made things so real but after I felt so much lighter. I'm not going to lie I did have a cathartic cry after some parts and felt so much better for doing so!


The Adulting Manual is definitely a book that I'm going to keep coming back to and rereading whenever I need a little self care - and to finish off my colouring of course! Plus, the book is as beautiful on the outside as it is on the inside and is filled with gorgeous and fun illustrations.


The Adulting Manual is a helpful, incredible and powerful self help journal that everybody needs to have on their bookshelf!


Thank you so much again to Milly Smith, Katie Abey and Hot Key Books for this incredible book!

Thank you for reading my thoughts, you can also find me on my Twitter and Instagram! Let me know if you have any recommendations of what I should read next.

22 views0 comments
bottom of page