top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Theme of the Month: February 2021


Welcome to a new feature on Book, Blog & Candle - Theme of the Month!


Here's how it works:

Every month I would like to host a theme on my blog and on my introductory post I'll recommend a few books surrounding the theme from the books I've read and from my TBR.


However during the month I'll need all of your amazing help! I would absolutely love it if you could recommend some books, tv shows, films or video games surrounding the theme as well!! You can get in touch in the comments under this post, on my Twitter, my Instagram or even my email if you really like 😂


My ultimate goal is to be able to create a masterpost at the end of the month filled with everyone's recommendations (credited of course), add to my never ending TBR and hopefully be able to interact with even more wonderful people in the book community 😍


I hope this sounds like fun and I hope you join along!



So without further ado here is the theme for February...



MAGIC!


I thought magic would be the perfect starting point to kick this series off, who doesn't love a bit of magic?!


There are so many fantastic books featuring magic but here are some of the ones I've read/added to my TBR recently...


Scapegracers - Hannah Abigail Clarke

Scapegracers was a book I kept seeing on Twitter and when I found out it featured sapphic witches how was I supposed to resist?! Plus I love the fact that it had an all female friend group that was supportive and loving of each other! This was one of those books that I read in one sitting and I've been meaning to post a review but I loved it so much that I don't know what to write. Also isn't that cover just simply gorgeous? 😍



The Mermaid, The Witch & The Sea - Maggie Tokuda Hall

The Mermaid, The Witch & The Sea was one of my most anticipated reads last year and I was so lucky to receive a copy through Netgalley! I absolutely loved reading this and I loved that it featured a gender fluid space pirate as well 😍 I think that it the best sentence I have ever written!

Even though the book does contain magic, the most magical part for me was the instant chemistry between Flora/Florian and Evelyn.



Master of One - Jaida Jones & Danielle Bennett

I read Master of One towards the end of last year and it quickly became my new favourite series, I'm absolutely desperate for the next one! It includes Fae, a group of unlikely friends and a hunt for some ancient fae treasure. It also features the use of dark magic called mirrorcraft which plants glass into the hearts of Rags and the rest of the group.

And if that isn't enough to convince you the blooming relationship between Rags and the fae Shining Talon is the cutest thing ever!




Legendborn - Tracy Deonn

Legendborn is a book that I've recently added to my TBR and I cannot wait to start reading it 😍 This will be my first King Arthur retelling and I am so excited because I LOVE the legend of King Arthur and Merlin! I've heard so many good things about this book and it looks like it is filled with tons of magic ✨


Plus this cover is absolutely STUNNING 😍



The Witcher Series - Andrzej Sapkowski

Ok, I admit I did start reading this series because of how much I loved The Witcher on Netflix and I am LOVING them so far! I've read the first two and have recently added Blood of Elves to my collection which I'm hoping to read soon. I even brought The Witcher 3 on PS4 and I'm so bad at video games but having lots of fun 😂




The Identity Thief - Alex Bryant

The Identity Thief was a really interesting read and I was so glad to be part of the blog tour for it with Love Books Tours. It's set in a version of London where magic is real but forbidden and a shapeshifting sorcerer decides to unleash magical carnage across the city. I really enjoyed the magical system in this book because it was so different from others that I had read and it was a dark and gripping story that kept me hooked from the first page!



Thief's Magic - Trudi Canavan

Thief's Magic is a book that I've had on my NetGalley TBR for so long! It sounds so good and I'm hoping I'll be able to get round to it soon 😍I definitely had to include it in this theme of the month because it literally has the word 'magic' in the title 😂 If you've read it please let me know what you think!


So these are some of my recommendations which feature magic, now I turn to you! Please leave as many titles and media which include magic of some form whether on this post, on my Twitter, my Instagram or even my email and I would love to include as many as I possibly can on my master post at the end of the month!


I would also really appreciate it if you could share this post and make sure to include your own books if you're an author and you have a theme of magic! I would love to promo it in the master post for you!


Thank you so much for reading and I hope you enjoy! I'm really excited to do this every month 😍


Love Soph x

39 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page