top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoph

Readers Without Borders Charity Readathon: Check In



Hiya everyone,


I hope you are all well! ❤️ If you follow me on Twitter, you may know that this month I am participating in the Readers Without Borders Charity Readathon hosted by The Worlds of Sci-Fi and Fantasy!


If you would like to take part in this readathon and help raise money for Doctors Without Borders it's not too late, set yourself a reading challenge and make sure to check out the original post over on The Worlds of Sci-Fi and Fantasy! They're also giving you the chance to be able to write guest reviews on their site and to be able to enter some amazing giveaways.


As we're halfway through the month now I thought I'd do a check in post so you can see how my challenge is going!

My challenge was to try and get through some of my review requests as they've been stacking up a little bit lately 🙈 I originally set a small goal of reading and reviewing two and I am super happy to say that I have surpassed this, so now I am going to see how many I can get through!


The books I have got through so far are:


The first of my review requests I have read and reviewed is the Forest God by Jamie Lackey.


In The Forest God we follow three lives that all become entwined. Margery, the witch's apprentice, hardened and isolated from the cruel world who judge her harshly on her appearance. As a result she has low confidence in herself and doubts her abilities whilst training with the witch to serve the Forest God.


Hugh, the young clueless lord of the land is superficial and spoiled convinced that he would never fall in love with someone that looks like Margery.


And the legendary Forest God reincarnated into a hare and content with his current life cycle but wary of the young lord.



The second of my review requests I have read and reviewed is The Gatewatch by Joshua Gillingham.


In The Gatewatch we follow Torin, Bryn and Grimsa, three best friends from noble families on their way to becoming recruits to slay the nefarious trolls. What follows is a story of fun adventures, daring escapades and unexpected bonds.




The third of my review requests I have read and reviewed so far is The Very Real World of Emily Adams by Samantha Rose. This review was part of a blog tour for Love Books Tours!


In The Very Real World of Emily Adams we join our main character Emily as she runs away after her boyfriend pushes her down the stairs. With nowhere to go and isolated from her family, convinced that she can't go to them for help after everything she has done, she is certain that she is done with life. She heads towards the roof of a building where, in a strange turn of fate, she meets an eccentric and witty man who gives her hope again.



I'm hoping to be able to get through some more this month - otherwise my wrap up post will be very similar 😂


Thank you so much for reading through my check in post, feel free to join in with a challenge! You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram ❤️

13 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page